[TF.N Main] [Contact Us]
[Video Games - Main]
[More...]
[Lucasarts]

[Popular Stories]
CEII: Jabba's Palace Reunion - Massive Guest Announcements

Star Wars Night With The Tampa Bay Storm Reminder

Stephen Hayford Star Wars Weekends Exclusive Art

ForceCast #251: To Spoil or Not to Spoil

New Timothy Zahn Audio Books Coming

Star Wars Celebration VII In Orlando?

May The FETT Be With You

Mimoco: New Mimobot Coming May 4th

[Jedi Council Forums]
Star Wars: Battlefront III Speculation, hopes, discussion

Star Wars Games Trivia Challenge

Empire At War: Forces of Corruption

Lego Star Wars II Discussions

JC.N GL Gaming Lounge II
[Poll]
There are no polls
currently operating
in this sector.
Please check
back soon.

View Poll Archives



Catching Up With SW: The Old Republic

Posted By Mike on June 25, 2012

The Community News section of SWTOR.com brings us all of our official TOR updates for last week as they continue to ramp up for Game Update 1.3. By the way, Digital Spy reports that fans can expect Game Update 1.3: Allies to be available tomorrow, June 26th.

Let's start with a new article from Greg Amatangelo that details the Team Ranked Warzones in the upcoming Update 1.3...

"Hi, I’m Gabe Amatangelo, Principal Lead PvP Designer, and I’m excited to tell you guys that Pre-Season One of Team Ranked Warzones is back on the Public Test Server! In the current Game Update 1.3 PTS build, you’ll find a new button in the Warzone queue window: Queue Team Ranked. This button is available to any player that is in a group of eight level 50 players, and allows that group to queue up for Team Ranked Warzones with a single click. Team Ranked Warzones can only be participated in by a full team of eight players. If any player drops out of the queue before a match is made, the team will need to find a replacement and re-queue."

Click here for the full read.


Next up, System Designer David Hunt dives into the Crew Systems and Items within Game Update 1.3. Click here to read details concerning adaptive gear, augment tables, flashpoint itemization and more.


Here's the intro to William Wallace's post concerning the Legacy Perks of Game Update 1.3...

"Hi, I’m Senior Game Designer William Wallace. In Game Update 1.2, we introduced Legacy Unlocks, a system in which characters across your Legacy could unlock special rewards for reaching different milestones. Since Game Update 1.2 went live, your Smuggler may have learned a new skill from their Sith Inquisitor father, or you might have unlocked new species options for your classes. No matter your personal choices, you have now started to build your very own Star Wars™ legacy.

With Game Update 1.3, we are continuing to expand the Legacy system by introducing the new Character Perks system. Character Perks allow you to customize each character in your Legacy, allowing you to modify how you level them with modifiers to increase the experience you gain from Flashpoints or Space Missions. Character Perks will also grant your Legacy character new conveniences that are useful both during leveling and once you’ve reached level 50.

Character Perks differ from Legacy Unlocks in a couple of different ways. The most obvious difference is that while Legacy Unlocks apply to all characters in your Legacy, Character Perks only apply to a single character, allowing you to customize that particular character. Also, while most Global Unlocks can be earned through normal play or can alternately be purchased for credits, Character Perks can only be purchased using in-game credits. As Character Perks apply only to a single character, their credit costs are significantly lower than most Global Unlocks. Some Character Perks are also restricted by Legacy level and character level in addition to having a credit cost."


As always, click here for the full post.


Topics within the most recent Friday Community Q&A included the development cycle for armor, the Toxic Scan ability, Assassins/Shadows changes in Update 1.3, character slots, "smart" abilities, and random loot tables. Click here!


We also have a new Dev Tracker Summary, a new Community Forum and Event Round-Up, and a reminder of tomorrow's scheduled maintenance. As noted in the Digital Spy link above, this maintenance will lead to the launch of Game Update 1.3: Allies:

"Hello everyone, we wanted to let you know that we will be performing scheduled maintenance for four hours on Tuesday, June 26th, 2012 from 2AM CDT (12AM PDT/3AM EDT/8 AM BST/9AM CEST/5PM AEST) until 6AM CDT (4AM PDT/7AM EDT/12PM BST/1PM CEST/9PM AEST). All game servers and SWTOR.com will be offline during this period. This maintenance is expected to take no more than four hours, but could be extended.

Game Update 1.3: Allies introduces new features for all Star Wars™: The Old Republic™ players including a Group Finder tool, Legacy Perks, Ranked Warzones, and Adaptive Gear! Now you will be able to quickly find groups to take on Flashpoints, Operations, Warzones, and Planetary Heroic Missions. The Legacy System incorporates new bonuses including Advancement Perks which allows you to customize your leveling experience. With Adaptive Gear, social gear can now be used in combat, by fusing it with corresponding armor bonuses and creating slots for modifications. These are just a few of many exciting features of Allies! Learn more about Game Update 1.3 here!

After this maintenance is over, restart the game launcher to patch to Game Update 1.3."



Michael Bitton at MMORPG.com provides 4 reasons Star Wars: The Old Republic should make the shift to free-to-play.


And just for fun, here are the Return, Hope, and Deceived cinematic trailers combined as one cinematic experience...
(Thanks Som!)






Related Stories

July 19, 2012   SWTOR Players Dealing With A Phishing Scam
July 7, 2012   Catching Up With SW: The Old Republic
June 30, 2012   Catching Up With SW: The Old Republic
June 19, 2012   Catching Up With SW: The Old Republic
June 11, 2012   SW: The Old Republic On Sale At Amazon
June 8, 2012   Catching Up With SW: The Old Republic
June 5, 2012   E3 2012: SW: The Old Republic Coverage
June 4, 2012   Catching Up With SW: The Old Republic





[Video Games - News Archives]
Star Wars Island In Geoffrey's Jungle
Posted By Dustin on May 2, 2013:
Toys "R" Us Celebrates May the 4th

Zen Studios Celebrates May 4th With A Star Wars Pinball Sale
Posted By Dustin on May 1, 2013:
50% off Star Wars
Kotaku Details LucasArts' Final Months
Posted By Eric on April 10, 2013:
In-depth reporting plus video of Battlefront III

KOTOR II Developer Wants To Pitch Another SW Game
Posted By Eric on April 9, 2013:
Plus: details on the possible pitch

[TF.N Newsletter]
Enter Email Address:
Find Out More...
[All Posters]
Star Wars - Episode III - Yoda - Stand Up
AllPosters.com
Search For Posters, Cardboard Stand-Ups & T-Shirts!
[Rebelscum.com - Star Wars Collecting]
[TheForce.Net - FanFilms]
[TheForce.Net - FanForce] [TheForce.Net - Fan Art]
[More News...]
TheForce.Net - Your Daily Dose of Star Wars
THEFORCE.NET IS NOT ENDORSED BY LUCASFILM, LTD. PLEASE READ OUR DISCLAIMER. © 2014 COPYRIGHT TF.N, LLC
The Galaxy is Listening
[TF.N Main] [TF.N FAQ] [Contact Us]